2010-2020 :- Editor-in-Chief Journal of The Indian Society of Remote Sensing

2012 :- Member Scientific Advisory Committee, Indian Institute of Astrophysics (IIA), Bangalore.

2010 :- Chairman Review panel of TIFR Balloon Facility.

2010:- Member,’State Council of Climate change’, Govt: of Himachal Pradesh

2004 -2006 :- Member, Governing Council, Indian National Centre for Ocean Information Services, Hyderabad

2003-2004: –  Member of the International Academy of Astronautics Study Team on `Space to promote peace –initial focus on reconstruction of Afghanistan.

2002-2004 :-  President, Indian Society of Remote Sensing.

1999-2001 :- President, Gujarat Science Academy.

1999  :-  Consulting Faculty, Taleem Research Foundation, Ahmedabad

1997-1998 :-  Member, Steering Committee, Centre for Development of Advanced Computing, C-DAC, Pune

1997-2000 :- Member, Research Council, National Institute of Oceanography

1996-2000 :- President, Technical Commission-I, International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ISPRS)

1996-1999 :- President, Indian Society of Geomatics

1994-1997 :- Member, Research Council, Central Glass and Ceramic Research Institute, Calcutta

1994-1996 :- President, Indian Society of Remote Sensing

1993-1996 :- Vice-President, Indian Society of Geomatics

1993-1996 :- Member, Management Council, Vikram Sarabhai Centre for Development Interaction (VIKSAT)

1992-1998 :- Member, Andhra Pradesh State Remote Sensing Applications Centre Society.

1989-1998 :- Member, Governing Body of Centre for Earth Science Studies, Trivandrum

1988-1998 :- Member, Advisory Committee for Remote Sensing Applications Centre (Madhya Pradesh), Bhopal.

1988-1991 :- Member-Secretary, Indian National Committee for Space Research (INCOSPAR)

1985-1988 :- Member, Governing Council, Indian Institute of Astrophysics (IIA), Bangalore